It’s beginning to look a bit like Christmas

I feel like Christmas has taken me by surprise this year. I’m usually really organised and begin planning presents in October, but this year my brother’s wedding led into preparations for our first fair, which was swiftly followed by our trip to Scotland for Kath’s wedding. Before I knew it we were in the second week of November and I hadn’t even begun to think about it. Mild panic set in, so I whipped out my trusty clipboard to plan a series of virtual ram raids on my favourite online shops. Fast forward a couple of weeks and balance has been restored; my Christmas lists are well underway and some festive cheer is starting to take root.

It was in this spirit that Mr E and I ventured out to the Great Dixter Christmas Fair at the weekend. Despite the unpromising weather, the lure of some Christmas cheer and a chance to snoop around the inside of the house proved enough to entice us off the sofa.

Shelley from Winifred’s Daughter was there with her vintage textile creations. She also had a small tree festooned with fabric Christmas decorations, which looked very pretty. Wendy from the Kilndown fair was there too with her beautiful crocheted gifts and accessories. Luckily their stalls were beside an open fire, which added to the festive feel and seemed to ward off the worst of the chill. Other highlights included vintage tools, prints from Annie Soudain and a very tasteful stand by Folk at home.

The cosy glow continued at home where I started to write my Christmas cards.

That’s a few steps closer to another tick on my lists.

2 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a bit like Christmas

  1. Hi Laura. I’ve finally caught up with your blog and have spent some happy moments browsing through the last few posts. Interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

